Following MacWorld 08 From Work? Do It Effectively.

11 01 2008

It’s coming. I don’t even own a Mac. Well…kind of. Not the hardware anyway. I’m excited nonetheless. While there’s no live video coverage, you can still follow the dozens of live blogs from everywhere. Here’s a list of like 10. Thing is, I remember following along during the big iPod announcements in September and it was pretty disastrous. Having to manually refresh every few seconds and having to scroll to the bottom only to find you refreshed to soon and there were no updates. And the fact that I was at work, not working, made things worse. I don’t know if the live blogs are going to be any different this year. I was considering signing up through Twitter and getting my MacWorld updates that way. but then I found this.

RSS Popper is a toolbar for Outlook. While Outlook 2007 has an RSS reader, most companies are still using 2003 so this is good news for them (yes, I plan on following along at work again.) It takes a feed and checks it every x amount of seconds. Whatever you configure it to. It then displays them as email messages. While some may think that’s useless, (like I did at first) RSS Popper does a good job of keeping feeds out of your inbox and in their own folders.

Follow me so far? Why do this? Why not Google Reader? Well, like I said before, I didn’t much like being glued to the screen, waiting for updates. At this point we need to make a rule in Outlook. A rule that will notify you when there is an update with an alert window. THIS way, I can actually keep working but still follow along. It’s all about productivity, see?

untitledIn Outlook: Tools | Rules and Alerts | New Rule | Start from a Blank Rule | Check Messages When They Arrive | Next | check “with macworld in the subject or body” | Next | check “Display a Desktop Alert” | Next x 2 | Make sure the rule is on and click Finish

Good to go!

.

Well, hope this helps and enjoy the reveal of the 42″ TV with the iPhone OS (my outrageous prediction)

L8z
AleX

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2009
Michael Tim

I love your site!

_____________________
Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

